It takes a village to mentor an academic

8 Sep

Tenure, She Wrote

“Do you think grad school is a good time to have a baby?” This question came my way at a meeting last week, with a graduate student early in her doctoral work who was meeting me for the first time to ask me to join her thesis committee.

Labor Day has passed and the research-filled summer has given way to meetings: undergraduate advising meetings, graduate advising meetings, meetings with students interested in my classes, TA meetings, meetings with collaborators, and meetings with prospective graduate students who are planning to apply to my department’s graduate program this year.  Whew!  Things feel busier than ever before for me, because I have an 8-month-old daughter at home and am back from a semester of leave from teaching (although different from maternity leave, I’m grateful for it).

I can’t tell you whether it’s statistically significant, but it seems to me that in these meetings…

View original post 1,099 more words

Leave a Reply

