At a crossroads

16 Aug

Tenure, She Wrote

In the final leg of my PhD, I am nearing a crossroads.  Do I choose the academic path I have spent the last 10 years preparing for, or do I choose a different path?  I do not want the decision to be made for me.  Apparently, I’m not alone in preferring to make the decision ahead of time rather than feeling like a failure if I choose to go the academic route and do not find a job (Trouble with Bright Girls).  If nothing else, this is a chance for me to express out loud some of the nuances of this decision.

So many articles and commentaries have come out recently expounding difficulties landing and succeeding in a tenure-track position—due especially to the lack of jobs, gender discrimination, and the defunding of both science and higher education. These articles are disheartening and downright depressing (I…

View original post 1,071 more words

Leave a Reply

