“A shocking experience” (via What Is It Like to Be a Woman in Philosophy?)

18 Oct

http://beingawomaninphilosophy.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/a-shocking-experience/

I recently attended a conference in Asia. Over the three day period, there were something like sixty talks. It was not a small conference. I was one of three or four women in attendance.On the way home, I noted that I felt good and that it had been an excellent conference. I found this odd, given the maleness and foreignness of the conference (this point about foreignness is supposed to pick up on the thought that one is more likely to feel uncomfortable in unfamiliar environments/groups etc.) I quickly realised that it had been the first conference I had been to where no one tried to have sex with me, or involve me in something, in some way, inappropriate.

Leave a Reply

